Home > Artists

Artists

A list of the artists, architects, and designers who have created monuments in the United States and Canada that are included in Contemporary Monuments to the Slave Past. This is an ongoing documentation project and the names/websites will be added here as we update the Omeka site. We have also created a list of artists who have made monuments to the slave past in Africa, the Caribbean, Central and South America, and Europe.

Artist Name Artist Website Link to Item
Vinnie Bagwell https://www.vinniebagwell.com/ Frederick Douglass Circle
Dexter Benedict https://dexterbenedict.art/ William Seward and Harriet Tubman Statue
Meredith Bergman https://meredithbergmann.com/ Monument to Women’s Suffrage
Richard Blake http://richardblakesculptor.com/index.php/home/home/ Frederick Douglass
Erik Blome https://www.erikblome.com/ Edmonson Sisters Memorial
Manuelita Brown http://www.tsahaistudio.com/ Sojourner Truth
Sharon BuMann http://www.sharonbumann.com/SHARONBUMANN.COM/HOME.html Jerry Rescue Monument
Roy W. Butler http://roybutler.net/ United States Colored Troops National Monument
Jay Hall Carpenter http://jayhallcarpenter.com/ Frederick Douglass Memorial
Gary Casteel https://valleyartsgallery.com/casteel-sculptures-llc/ United States Colored Troops Memorial Statue
Mario Chiodo https://www.chiodoart.com/

Unwavering Courage in the Pursuit of Freedom

The Path of Thorns and Roses (Contraband and Freedmen Cemetery Memorial)

Fern Cunningham https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fern_Cunningham Step on Board
Jane DeDecker https://janededecker.com/ Harriet Tubman (first cast)
Harriet Tubman (second cast)
Harriet Tubman (third cast)
Harriet Tubman (fourth cast)
Ed Dwight https://www.eddwight.com/ Memorial to the Underground Railroad
Gateway to Freedom: International Memorial to the Underground Railroad
Tower of Freedom
South Carolina African-American History Monument
Texas African American History Memorial
Soldiers Memorial
Denmark Vesey Monument
Andrew Edwards https://www.cornoviiedwards.com/home Frederick Douglass Monument
James L. Gafgen https://buckscountymag.com/james-gafgen/ Harriet Ross Tubman Memorial
Susan Geissler http://susangeissler.com/ Freedom Crossing Monument
Ed Hamilton https://www.edhamiltonstudios.com/ Amistad Memorial
“Spirit of Freedom”: African American Civil War Memorial
The 29th Colored Regiment Monument
James K. Hill https://www.salisbury.edu/news/article/New-SU-Sculpture-Honors-Harriet-Tubman Harriet Tubman
Preston Jackson http://www.prestonjacksonart.com/ Knockin’ On Freedom’s Door
Pepsy M. Kettavong http://www.mushroomhouse.com/pepsy-kettavong Let's Have Tea
Olivia Kim https://oliviakimstudio.com/home.html https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1196
Gabriel Koren https://www.gabrielkoren.com/home.php https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1187
Rodney Leon http://www.rodneyleon.com/home https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1137
https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1136
James Edward Lewis https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_E._Lewis https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1191
Andrea Lugar https://www.lugarfoundry.com/ https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1131
Larry Lugar https://www.lugarfoundry.com/ https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1131
Jerome Meadows https://meadowlarkstudio.blogspot.com/p/about.html https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1128
https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1183
David S. Newton http://www.davidsnewtonsculptor.com/ https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1130
Martin Puryear https://www.matthewmarks.com/new-york/artists/martin-puryear/ https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1126
Joel Randall https://www.sculptorjoelrandell.com/ https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1105
Frank Rekrut https://www.theflorencestudio.com/sculpture-.html https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/61
https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/60
Marc Andre Robinson https://www.studiomuseum.org/exhibition/marc-andre-robinson-twice-told https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1194
Alison Saar https://lalouver.com/artist.cfm?tArtist_id=263 https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/12
https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/13
Joyce J. Scott https://www.mobilia-gallery.com/artists/joyce-j-scott https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/14
https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/15
J. Kim Sessums http://www.jkimsessums.com https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1101
Dorothy Radford Spradley https://gosouthsavannah.com/historic-district-and-city/monuments/african-american-monument.html https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1148
StudioEIS https://www.studioeis.com/ https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1193
Do Ho Suh https://www.lehmannmaupin.com/artists/do-ho-suh/biography https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1125
Thomas Jay Warren https://warrensculpture.com/ https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1198
D. J. Wilkins http://djwilkins.com/ https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1100
Bruce Wolfe https://www.brucewolfe.com/ https://www.slaverymonuments.org/items/show/1192

Created August 14, 2020